District Courts Toba Tek Singh
District Courts Toba Tek Singh

History of Toba Tek Singh


Toba Tek Singh emerged as separated district on the map of Punjab with effect from July 1982 after detaching it from Faisalabad district. It derives its name from the headquarters town named Toba Tek Singh. This town was founded some times in the beginning of the colonization era. It was named after a Sikh saint. Tek Singh who maintained a pond and used to serve drinking water to the passers-by. He thus rendered a great humanitarian service throughout his life to the community around him. He carried good name through his selfless services rendered to the people and gradually the pond came to be called as Toba Tek Singh meaning thereby the pond of Tek Singh. There was a small Mandi (market) nearby this pond, which subsequently flourished and also named after this pond.


The district consists of an area of 3,259 square kilometers. It is divided into three sub-divisions and the area of each sub-division is as under:

Name of Sub Division & Total Area (in sq.km)

1. Toba Tek Singh 1,293
2. Kamalia 1,1153
3. Gojra 851
4. Pir Mahal 95

The district comprises four municipal committees namely Toba Tek Singh, Gojra, Kamalia and Pir Mahal and 539 villages.

The Government of Punjab, Pakistan issued the notification of Pir Mahal Tehsil on 24 January 2013, with effect from 1 February 2013; before this Pir Mahal was a sub-tehsil of Kamalia Tehsil. According to the notification of Government of Punjab, Pir Mahal Tehsil has 15 Union councils consisting of 133 Revenue Estates (small towns and villages).